Chocolate Swirl Cheesecake

DSCN1264

I love cheese cake.  All kinds of cheese cakes I find hard to resist.  Many years ago I clip this recipe off of the back of the box of baking chocolate.  It is not too sweet and rich in chocolate flavor.  I have modified the recipe a little so it would not be too bittersweet dark chocolate for my family.  I just reduced the amount of chocolate squares in the recipe.  You make it in a pre-made graham cracker crust from the grocery store.  It is just the matter of mixing up the cheesecake batter and baking.

Easy Chocolate Swirl Cheesecake

  • Servings: 8 servings
  • Difficulty: intermediate
  • Print

Ingredients:

2  squares of semi sweet baking chocolate
2 (8 oz.) packages of cream cheese room temperature
1/2 cup sugar ( divided into 1/4 cups)
2 eggs (1 for each flavor)
1/2 teaspoon for each flavor

1 graham cracker of chocolate cookie pie crust

Directions:

Pre heat oven 350 degrees.

In a mixing bowl, cream one package of cream cheese with 1/4 cup sugar until light and fluffy.  Melt chocolate squares in microwave for about 1 1/2 minutes until almost melted.  Stir until completely smooth.  Add egg and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla to cream cheese mixture and beat in until blended.  Add melted chocolate and beat until blended.

Place chocolate batter in the graham cracker crust and spread evenly. Use spatula to scrap out all the chocolate batter.

In the same bowl mix the other package of cream cheese and 1/4 cup of sugar.  Beat until light and fluffy.  Add the other egg and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla to mixture and beat until smooth.

Pour on top of chocolate batter in the pie crust.  Take a knife and swirl a round the batter.

Bake for 40 minutes.  It will still look soft in the center but it will firm up.  If you bake it too long when it cools it will crack on the top.  Let cool a couple of hours before serving.

This is a great recipe when you are looking for something special.  I usually buy cream cheese on special after a holiday or when marked down for quick sale.  It is a nice way to enjoy cheese cake that is inexpensive and easy to make.

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Sheryl says:

    Some of my favorite recipes are ones that I clipped off the packages of brown sugar, baking chocolate, canned goods, etc. My guess is that the companies put a lot of energy into making sure that they had really good recipes on their packages so that they’d sell more of the product–and which led to some excellent ones.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Originally it was for 4 squares of chocolate but that made it too dark chocolate for the family. But for someone that likes dark bitter sweet chocolate it was really good. I cut it down to 2 squares and that seemed just right for a rich chocolate flavor to enjoy. Another recipe I always liked was the chocolate cake recipe off of Hershey’s Cocoa box. The cake and frosting was wonderful.

      Thanks for your comment. I have to get caught up with my emails of all the posts I follow. We have been dealing with a summer cold here.

      Like

      1. Sheryl says:

        Summer colds are no fun! I hope you feel better soon.

        Like

  2. sharrielynn says:

    This looks absolutely amazing!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It is fast and easy to make too. Thanks for stopping in.

      Like

  3. Liz says:

    The cake looks very delicious! Enjoy your weekend!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I gain 5 lbs just reading your blog. I have to fight the urge to raid the kitchen after a spin through your yummy baked goods.

      Thank you.

      Like

  4. quilt32 says:

    This sounds like the perfect summer Sunday dessert – quick and easy to make and delicious.
    Lillian

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      thanks for stopping in.

      Like

  5. Cream cheese and chocolate – What a wonderful combination. I love this recipe!!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      You can make it with sugar substitute for your hubby.

      Thanks for the comment. .

      Like

  6. Oohh Weee! This looks finger-lickin’ good – I must try this the next time I make a cheesecake!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Yes it is. It took several tries to get it right.

      Like

  7. Yum! I don’t know how I missed this recipe! This looks wonderful!

    Like

  8. trkingmomoe says:

    Thanks. It is really good.

    Like

Leave a comment