Turkey Pot Pie (Meat Pie from left overs)

DSCN0471

Rooster Pie Bird keeps the pie from boiling over while baking.

There was still some turkey left overs in the freezer from Christmas.  Today has been cold for Florida, so it was a good day to make a turkey pot pie.  I used refrigerated pie dough that I had left over from the holidays which also needed used.  I bought it on sale right after Christmas.  I always take advantage of good mark downs and look for them.  Today I found canned pumpkin for fifty cents a can.  Pumpkin is something I like to bake with and the expiration date is in 2015.  I bought 4 cans.  My family like pumpkin cookies and pie.  This is a very easy pie to make and quick to do when using refrigerated pie dough from the super market.

Meat pies are a good way to use up left overs.  I had also saved the extra gravy as well as the turkey meat.  It takes about a cup of each.   I had a few left over vegetables in the refrigerator that also went into the pie.  I pealed a potato and diced it.  I boiled the potato with some mixed frozen vegetables.  When they were done I drained them,  then added the left meat, gravy and vegetables.

Turkey Pot Pie

Uncooked double pie crust

1 to 1 1/2 cups of cooked turkey

1 cup turkey gravey

2 potatoes pealed and cut into bite size pieces

1 1/2 cup of mixed vegetables or peas and carrots

salt and pepper

Preheat oven 375 degrees

Cook vegetables until tender.  Drain and add turkey and gravy. Season to taste.   Heat completely.  Pour into a pastry line 9 inch pie plate. Add top crust and seal edges.  Cut slits in the top of the pie so it will vent.

DSCN0463

Add top crust and seal edges.  Cut slits in the top crust to vent so the pie doesn’t boil over.  A pie bird will also help vent the steam from the pie while baking.  To add color to the crust sprinkle a little smoked paprika and dried parsley on the top before baking.

DSCN0466

 Bake at 375 degrees for 40 to 45 minutes until pie is golden brown.  Serve warm.

DSCN0479

9 thoughts on “Turkey Pot Pie (Meat Pie from left overs)”

  1. Generally do not have much left overs meat wise. Gotten too got at knowing just how much I need I guess.

    But will have to try it sometime.

    1. You can use a can of chicken or turkey meat that you find in the tuna section of the grocery. I do that sometimes and use a package of gravy mix. It tastes really good the next day too. If I make my own crust it is really an inexpensive meal. I read your growing up in a white world. I enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

